After Two Years, I Thought I’d Try a Different Province

Welcome back to La Vida Andaluza! I haven’t updated since late Spring because, well, I haven’t been in Spain. For the second straight summer, I was in Napa, CA, working as a counselor at a camp for the blind and visually impaired.  On August 31st, though, I returned to Spain, and to Andalucía, but I’m no longer a “language and culture” assistant in Arcos de la Frontera, Cádiz. About an hour and a half north of my former hilltop town is where I’ve moved, to a town with an equally long and qualified name, Castilleja de la Cuesta.  Whereas Arcos was geaographically and spiritually isolated from surrounding cities’ influences, Castilleja is a mere five minute drive from Sevilla, the capital of the Comunidad Autónoma de Andalucía. As such, the town (at roughly 7,500 inhabitants, roughly a quarter of the population of Arcos) has much more of un urban mentality, while remaining essentially a one-street village.

My residence is my girlfriend, Esmeralda’s new apartment. I previously posted a photo of the patio (see the Feria de Abril entry), but did not take any pictures of the interior, because there wasn’t really anything there. Needless to say, the apartment is now furnished, and I’ll get photos up as soon as I can. Likewise, I’ll post photos of my new town soon, as well.

Further details about my life here will be forthecoming. I’m still waiting for some paperwork to go through, so I’m not going to comment on the professional aspect of my stay here quite yet.

Until next time, and good luck, Madrid 2016!

~ by lincolnbrody on September 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
