Feliz Día de las Madres

Happy Mother’s Day…in the U.S. It was actually Mother’s Day last Sunday in Spain, but I’ll celebrate it today, because, alas, I haven’t got a Spanish mom. When I asked my girlfriend why the dates might be different in our distinctive homelands, she commented that in Spain the holiday always falls on the first Sunday of May, as sort of an inauguration of what in Spain is  Virgin Mary Month. Go figure.

A little over a month ago, my mom came to visit me in Sevilla, so to celebrate this day I’m posting some of her best photos from Sevilla, Arcos de la Frontera, the Sierra de Cádiz, and Morocco (with an obligatory appearance by said holy matriarch, of course).

At some point in the near future I expect her to send me some thoughts and reflections from the trip, as my dad did after his visit, at which time I’ll post those as well.

Holy Week penitentes, Sevilla

Crucifixion paso, Holy Week, Sevilla

Detail of a paso

A stork flies above Arcos de la Frontera

Paso of the Virgin Mary, Arcos de la Frontera

Driving from Arcos into the Sierra de Cádiz, seen in the distance

Airplane view of the incredible proximity (14 km) of the European and African continents. Spain is on the left (notice the Rock of Gibraltar at the far end of the bay), and Morocco on the right.

Fes, Morocco

Fes, Morocco

Reales Alcázares fortress and gardens, Sevilla

Private seating to view Holy Week processions, Sevilla

View of Sevilla's emblematic Giralda tower

~ by lincolnbrody on May 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
